reading and writing simple netCDFs

Jun 15, 2011 at 1:08 AM
Edited Jun 15, 2011 at 1:36 AM

First of all, I want to apologize, since unknowingly i posted the same problem in issue tracker. i am sorry for that.

Anyways, I am very new in C# and SDS world. So, i have a simple problem. Can anyone plesae tell me how can i see the dimnentions and variables after reading a netCDF file in C#. I don't want to use command line for this purpose. I am also wondering if I could get some help with example codes of writing a simple netCDF file. 

Thanks in advance.

Jun 15, 2011 at 2:44 PM

Hi,

DataSet consists of Variables; each Variable contains data and metadata; the latter is a dictionary of attributes as pairs name/value. 

To open a DataSet, use DataSet.Open() method; e.g. DataSet.Open("myfile.nc").

Collection of variables is exposed as DataSet.Variable property; dimensions are exposed as DataSet.Dimensions. Description with some examples you may find here. Detailed walkthroughs with recommendations, what you should do prior to use SDS, are available in the Getting Started document.

Sample of creating and writing simple NetCDF:

float[,] grid = new float[360,720];
    double[] x = new double[360];
    double[] y = new double[720];
    // ... compute grid, x and y values
    DataSet ds = DataSet.Open("filepath.nc?openMode=create");
    ds.Add("grid", grid, "x", "y");
    ds.Add("x", x, "x");
    ds.Add("y", y, "y");
    ds.PutAttr("grid", "units", "m/sec2");

See API reference text here. Also SDS documentation can be found after the SDS installation is complete in the Start / Programs / Scientific DataSet 1.2 / Scientific DataSet Reference.

Good luck!

If you have any further questions, please reply.

Regards, Dmitry.

Jun 16, 2011 at 6:59 PM

Hi Dmitry,

Thanks for your help on my prevous problem on redaing the simple netCDFs. Here I have some more problems.